ENGLISH AND URDU TRANSLATION / انگریزی اور اردو ترجمہ

*Please listen until the track ends. If the orange chair outside the barbers is empty, please feel free to have a seat. The final section of the track is spoken in English.


I was cutting the hair of one of my customers, I did a combover of one customer, and a normal cut, and I trimmed his beard. Once I cut my wife’s hair and she hit me because she didn’t like it.

Today, my wife cooked kidney beans for me at lunch.

My mum and dad arranged this marriage for me. 

I look like my dad, my dad was of proper posture, he has very beautiful eyes, and he has got a beautiful, blunt, straight face. He used to put henna in his hair. I love my father very much.

I lived in Spain for 20 years and had a good life there. 

God gave me the opportunity to pick up languages really easily. People from different communities, like Arabic, Spanish, English, Iranian, Turkish, Punjabi and Urdu used to come to my barber shop in Spain, and I used to speak to them in their language, and asked them to help me learn it, so I learned 7 languages in this way. 

Now life is going very fast, but it’s going really well. I am very happy with my life and with my wife, thank god. 


I used to work in the fields, growing rice and wheat crops. I had buffaloes that I would milk and feed. I gave names to my buffaloes, one was called Rani, the other Chakori, and I also used to have 30-40 pigeons. I used to feed them, and I would fly them in the evening and felt happy when they came back.

My village is very beautiful, I had a three storey house and my room was on the top floor. And when I woke up in the morning, I could see the mosque and the fields in front of my house. And the people coming and going with their cattle. 

I have the permission to open in front of this shop, and my stall is part of the shop. I used to help them with their shop and now they are helping me with mine. 

I cannot work for 7 days per week, because of the weather conditions here. When there is rain, I have to have a day off and there are one or two wet days weekly.

There is a delivery at 12.30 so I have to leave. 


The meat delivery doesn’t come every day, it comes twice a week. 

For local customers that need 1 or 2kg of meat, we give them meat from the display and then we get more from the cold room at the back of the shop. There are different kinds of knives in the shop, none of them are special. We use different knives for different cuts, like separate knives for the boneless meat and a big knife to cut the meat with the bone, and a separate knife for the chicken. 

I am from a small village called Gulpur of the district Kotli from Azad, Kashmir. In my family, there is my  mother and father, and we are 4 brothers and sisters. I grew up with them there in the village.

In Pakistan we have many political rallies and protests. When I was in Rawalpindi, there were lawyer strikes almost every week. I saw big crowds there, especially in the election season. I used to hold placards because I was part of the lawyer community. I still am. I still have pictures of those rallies on my phone, I can show you later if you want. Normally, we were protesting for the Kashmir cause – especially when India ended section 73 and 35a, we protested against that. We wrote on our placards, ‘free Kashmir, give them their rights’.

I came here as a student and I am working in the Butcher’s shop at the moment. I’m here doing an LLM (international business law degree). I know a little bit about this place, and about the people that work with me in the shop and about my neighbours. There is a guy called Yasir, his father works at the barber shop, and my other colleague is Munazir Bahi, he works at Asda as well as here. 

Our boss brings our lunch from his home, and we all eat it in the shop. New city opened just recently, 1-2 weeks ago, but we get our chapatis from Red Chilli. 

Nobody at the shop knows about me, who I am and what I am studying at the moment. I have not told them about it. They often ask me about my qualifications and I just tell them that I am just a graduate. Even now they  ask me what I am doing, and I tell them that I am doing a Masters. None of them are qualified or educated. Even Shazad, who runs New City, and my boss, are not educated, and the other guy who works with me in the shop has only matriculated in Pakistan. That’s why I haven’t told them. 


The first order I gave to my brother so he could taste my food was Aloo Parata. When I started this business, four months ago, I didn’t know anything about Chinese food. Before I came here, I used to live in Italy, and there I made shoes.

I used to observe the Chinese person working in this shop and ask him questions about the food, how he is making it, and what ingredients he is using. He was a very nice person. He told me that he would teach me everything before he left the shop. So I made something  impossible possible in a short time span of 2-3 months. 

In Italy, I used to make shoes.

To begin with, we’d clean the sole of the shoe in a machine. After preparing the sole, we’d take it to another machine to be cut. And then we would stitch the upper part of the shoe and finish it with dye. They were all branded shoes, and it was a big company that used to give us orders, and we’d export shoes to different parts of the world.

There I used to work an 8 hour day, and after that I could go home and give proper time to my family. But here, it is up to me how much I can work. 

The government here is very good I think. No-one will be left to starve here or without clothes to wear, because if you tell the government here that you need help, then they will help you.


میرا نام مزمل صدیق ہے۔ میں 4 دنوں بعد 13 سال کا ہو جاؤں گا۔ شاید میں اپنی سالگرہ اس دکان میں گزاروں گا لیکن شاید ایک ہفتے بعد میں جاؤں اور اپنی سالگرہ کی رقم کہیں اور خرچ کروں۔ میں دس سال کا تھا جب میں نے اس دکان میں کام کرنا شروع کیا۔

اپنے پاؤں پر کھڑا ہونا تھوڑا پر خوف تھا لیکن چند ہفتوں بعد، مجھے کچھ اشیاء کی قیمتیں سمجھ آ گئیں اور پھر مجھے یہ سب کرنا آ گیا۔ صرف حالیہ ہی مجھے یومیہ 30 پاؤنڈ ادا ہونے شروع ہوئے جو کہ میری عمر کے مطابق ٹھیک ہیں۔ بعض اوقات میں نے کریپٹو میں سرمایہ کاری کی کیوں کہ میرا میرے والد کے ساتھ مشترکہ اکاؤنٹ ہے اور اصل میں میں کریپٹو کارڈ پر ہوں، جو کہ اچھی بات ہے۔ اور کریپٹو کارڈ کے ساتھ آپ ہر خرچ پر 2% واپس حاصل کر لیتے ہو۔ 

تو مثال کے طور پر، سو پاؤنڈ پر آپ کو مفت دو پاؤنڈ واپس مل جائیں گے۔ میری سب سے ذیادہ پاؤنڈ ملکیتی پوکیمان کارڈ ہیں اور یہ نایاب پوکیمان کارڈ نہیں ہیں۔ اس ایک کی قیمت 55 پاؤنڈ ہے لیکن اگر میں انہیں مزید دو سے تین سال رکھوں تو یہ اس سے کہیں ذیادہ قیمت کے ہو سکتے ہیں۔ صرف ایک چیز جس کے لیے میں چھوڑ دوں گا وہ نایاب رین بو کاریزارڈ ہے کیوں کہ یہ کھیل میں نایاب ترین چیز ہے یا نایاب ترین چیزوں میں سے ایک ہے۔ میں بہت ذیادہ پڑھتا ہوں کیوں کہ میں اوپر کمرے میں سارا دن اکیلا ہوتا ہوں۔ 

آخری کتاب میں نے میلوری بلیک مین کی ناٹس اینڈ کراسس پڑھی تھی۔ یہ بنیادہ طور پر اس کے متعلق ہے کہ جب سیاہ فام لوگ سفید فام لوگوں کے زیر تسلط تھے اور پھر ایک دن ایک دن ایک سفید فام نے ایک سیاہ فام کو قتل کر دیا اور پھر سب کچھ ہاتھ سے نکل گیا۔ پھر وہاں بغاوت ہوئی اور سیاہ فام لوگوں نے سفید فام لوگوں پر طاقت حاصل کر لی اور پھر اس کے بعد سب جہنم بن گیا۔ کیوں کہ وہ بدلہ لینا چاہتے تھے ان سب چیزوں کا جو سفید فام لوگوں نے ان کے ساتھ کیا تھا۔ میں اپنے والدین اور بہن بھائیوں کے ساتھ رہتا ہوں۔

مجھے اپنی بہنیں پسند نہیں۔ وہ تنگ کرتی ہیں۔ آخری مرتبہ اس صبح مجھے غصہ آیا،  میں تاخیر سے جاگا اور میں نے اپنے بھائی کو تھپڑ مارا۔ میں نہیں کہتا کہ میں بہت اچھے رویے والا بچہ ہوں کیوں کہ مجھے معلوم ہے کہ میں ایسا نہیں ہوں۔

لیکن ہاں، میں اتنا بھی برا نہیں۔ مجھے نہیں لگتا۔ میرا خیال ہے اس علاقے میں کچھ برے لوگ بھی ہیں۔یہ رہنے کے لیے بہترین جگہ نہیں ہے اور جیسے بعض اوقات وہاں بہت سے منشیات فروش ہوتے۔ یہ کمیونٹی کے لیے اچھا نہیں ہے، بالخصوص جب سارا دن ارد گرد بہت سے بچے بھی ہوں۔ مجھے نہیں لگتا کوئی اسے تبدیل کر سکتا ہے۔ یہ زندگی ایسے ہے۔ یہ اتنا برا نہیں جو لوگوں کے ساتھ متشدد نہیں ہوتے لیکن بات صرف علاقے میں اثر کی ہے۔ 

میں کورونا وائر شروع ہونے سے پہلے باکسنگ کرتا تھا، (پہلے)، اور اس کے بعد میں کھانا شروع کرتا۔ اور اب مجھ میں پہلے جیسا استحکام نہیں ہے۔ 

میں ذیادہ تر U-F-C دیکھتا ہوں کیوں کہ یہ ذیادہ بھیانک ہے اور ہر مکے میں ذیادہ طاقت ہے۔ میرا پسندیدہ UFC لڑاکا کونر میکگریگر ہے اور حبیب حبیب کیوں کہ ان کا سٹیمنا بہت ذیادہ ہے اور وہ غالب آنے میں بہت اچھے ہیں اور ہاں، غالب آنے میں اور مارنے میں۔ امید ہے کہ میں ایک بے ہوش کرنے کا ماہر بن جاؤں گا کیوں کہ یہ ایک نفع بخش کام ہے۔ اور یہ کام کرنا مشکل نہیں ہے۔ یہ ہے کہ آپ کو آپریشن کرنے سے کچھ پہلے بنیادی طور پر تھوڑے وقت کے لیے قومہ میں لے جاتے ہیں، میرا خیال ہے۔ ان کو زندہ رکھنا ان کا کام ہے اور میرا کام انہیں سویا ہوا رکھنا ہے۔ 

اصل میں مجھے اس کے متعلق سوچنے دیں۔ یہ ایک گہرا سوال ہے۔ ]بیرونی زبان 00:03:38 [ کیا میں دو باتیں کہہ سکتا ہوں؟ تو پہلی بات یہ ہے کہ، جیسے جب مجھے پہلی مرتبی PS4 ملا، بالکل جیسے میری لیے 

نئی یاداشت ہو تمام دن کھیلنا بہت اچھا لگتا تھا۔ اور میل جول رکھنے کا ایک اور طریقہ تھا، جب کرونا وائرس آیا، میں کھیلوں کے ذریعے سے اپنے دوستوں سے میل جول کر سکتا تھا۔ اور ایک مرتبہ، جب میں نے اپنا پہلا باکسنگ کا پیچ جیتا ، یہ صرف اچھا تھا۔ مجھے نہیں معلوم، میں بہت ذیادہ خوش تھا، میں بہت ذیادہ خوشی میں گھر واپس گیا۔ 

میرے والد مجھے دیکھ رہے تھے اور لڑکوں کے والدین بھی مجھے دیکھ رہے تھے اور کوچ بھی مجھے دیکھ رہا تھا۔ میں ایک میل سے جیتا، خدا کا شکر ہے۔ میں تب ہارا نہیں۔